Quick Pics #3

Image

(Went to Tate Modern, which is free as most art galleries in London are! It’s a refurbished power plant which makes it a really cavernous gallery space, but I really enjoyed the surrealist exhibits.)

Image

(Took a beautiful walk over the Millennium bridge, better known as the Wobbly Bridge for how much it wobbled and moved right after it was built. It was also a bridge featured in a Harry Potter movie, in case anyone was curious. This bit of the walk was my favorite because you could see the bridge, the Thames, and St. Paul’s outlined in the distance. St. Paul’s is very impressive and I can’t wait to go inside soon!)

Image

(Took a stroll down Oxford street with a friend and went to some of the must-shop places like Top Shop and Primark. Top Shop is pretty popular but WAY to expensive for me, despite the the student discount that I get. I liked Primark a lot though, it’s really cheap and has a lot of stuff. I got a nice winter hat, but honest I didn’t lot a stuff because I don’t shopping much. Nevertheless, Oxford street was very cool and packed of stuff and London Fashion Week is coming up there so it looked very nice.)

Image

(This was the river in Cambridge near where we were living in the Clare College dorms. The dorms were huge and very nice. We even had a fire place! Plus the river was beautiful. All of the cool boating and the people which you see in the picture is called punting. We didn’t get to do it, but I wish we could have because it looked really pretty. There are about 23 colleges within Cambridge and Clare is only one. We saw a few others while we were there as well.)

Image

(We went to a nice little town 15 min. from Cambridge for lunch called Ely. I had some great fish and chips and then we went on a great tour to Ely Cathedral, above. It was very impressive and pretty, and the cathedral itself was made during different three different time periods, showing lots of different architectural styles.)

Image

(The next day we went on a tour of Corpus Cristo, another college in Cambridge. It is the oldest of the colleges and very nice. It made almost want to go to grad school in Cambridge, but the cost is ridiculous. The education system in the UK seems much different than in the US, so as much as I loved it there I’m not sure how realistic a goal it is. Nevertheless, I loved that I got to see it and experience such a cool place.)

Image

(We went into King’s College Chapel which was fantastic! I studied this chapel in an art history class once, so actually getting to see it was great and even more impressive than the pictures. The ceiling was just unbelievable.)

Image

(Finally we walked around Kings College, another Cambridge college which was the most beautiful, in my opinion. Afterward, we stayed around Cambridge for a bit to get ice cream and chat before getting on the train to go back. A very exhausting weekend!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment